KwaZulu-Natal Flood Disaster Relief

Due to the destruction of the water, many schools across Kwazulu-Natal is left without basic infrastructure such as desks and chairs for their learners. Six hundred thirty schools have been negatively affected, 124 have sustained severe damages, and 72 are still inaccessible.

The SAME Foundation was approached by the National Government last week to help assist five schools with the essential equipment needed to help them get back on their feet and get their learners back into the classroom.

These five schools have been identified as the worst schools in KwaZulu-Natal as they have nothing left. In the interim, The SAME Foundation will be focusing on two schools, Brettonwood High School and DR Macken Mistry Primary School. Brettonwood High School, situated in Durban, was established in 1966, and its primary focus as a school is to strive for excellence. 

Brettonwood always produces excellent results, with their 2021 Matric pass rate standing at 98%. Learners travel from as far as Inanda, Kwa-Mashu, Ntuzuma, and other areas to access quality education in Brettonwood. DR Macken Mistry Primary School was established in 1950 in the Sea Cow Lake community in Durban. This is a sought-after institution and is the oldest in its area with high academic excellence, sporting, religious and cultural practices – consequently, the enrolment has increased tremendously.